The academic year at Illinois Wesleyan consists of two regular semesters followed by an optional intensive term during the month of May.  The full semesters include fifteen weeks of instruction and a final examination week.  The fall semester begins in late August or early September depending on the calendar of the year.  The term ends in mid-December, prior to the holiday season.  The spring semester begins in early to mid-January and concludes in the first few days of May.  The May Term fills out most of the remaining days of the month of May.

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2018

Tuesday, January 9
.....................................
Orientation and registration of new students
Wednesday, January  10
.....................................
First day of classes
Tuesday, January 16
.....................................
Last day to add or drop a full semester or 1st 7 week class
Tuesday, January 30
.....................................
Last day to withdraw from a 1st 7 week class
Friday, February 23
.....................................
Mid-semester grades due
Friday, March 2
.....................................
Last day to add or drop a 2nd 7 week class
Friday, March 2
.....................................
Last day to withdraw from a full semester class
Friday, March 9 (5:00pm) thru Monday, March 19 (8:00am)
.....................................
Spring Recess
Wednesday, March 21 thru Friday, March 30
.....................................
Academic Advising for Fall 2018
Friday, March 23
.....................................
Last day to withdraw from a 2nd 7 week class

Wednesday, April 4 thru   Wednesday, April 11

.....................................
Class Registration for Fall 2018

Tuesday, April 24

.....................................
Last day of classes
Wednesday, April 25
.....................................
Reading Day (NO CLASSES)
Thursday, April 26 (8:00 am) thru Tuesday, May 1 (6:00 pm)
.....................................
Final Examinations
Wednesday, May 2 (by 12 noon)
.....................................
Final grades due for seniors and graduate candidates
Tuesday, May 8
.....................................
All other final grades due

 

COMMENCEMENT 2018

Sunday, May 6 (1:00 pm)