

## **Presidential Search Update**

1 message

IWU Board Chair <Update@communications.iwu.edu> Reply-To: IWU Board Chair <president@iwu.edu> To: janders3@iwu.edu Fri, Nov 10, 2023 at 10:50 AM

To: Campus Community

From: Timothy J. Szerlong '74, Chair, IWU Board of Trustees

Re: Presidential Search Update

Date: November 10, 2023

The process of identifying the University's 21st president is moving forward. I am pleased to announce the naming of a 12-member search committee, which includes members of the Board of Trustees, faculty, staff and a student in accordance with the University Bylaws.

There are few events in the life of a University that are more important than the transition of presidential leadership. The committee will begin its work immediately with the objective of conducting a thorough national search.

Chairing the search committee is W. Thomas Lawrence, retired Tax Managing Partner, Ernst & Young LLP. Tom is a member of the IWU Class of 1980. He has been a trustee since 2007 and currently serves on the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees as vice chair. Tom has already begun to reach out to faculty, staff, alumni and friends of the University to inquire about the qualities and qualifications required for our 21st president.

In addition, six other trustees have agreed to serve on the search committee, including: Rod Adams '95, principal, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Chicago, Illinois; Herbert A. Getz '77, president, Aspen Creek Partners Inc., Naperville, Illinois; Colleen Kannaday, president, Carle BroMenn Medical Center, Normal, Illinois; Leah Merrifield '78, LAM Consulting, St. Louis, Missouri; Laura C. Randolph '92, plastic surgeon, Bloomington, Illinois; and Robert K. Zimmermann '71, treasurer of the Board and retired vice president, Energizer Holdings, St. Louis, Missouri.

The committee will also include three members elected by the faculty: Stephanie Davis-Kahl, University Librarian and Copyright Officer; Joanne Diaz, Isaac Funk Endowed Professor of English; and Bryan McCannon '98, Director of the School of Business and Economics and Robert S. Eckley Endowed Professor of Economics.

Representing the staff will be Michael Thompson, Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness.

The student representative will be Raji More, Class of 2026, computer science major from Bloomington.

Consistent with the University's ongoing commitment to build an inclusive and diverse community, a nonvoting Search Advocate will also serve on the committee. The Search Advocate's function is to identify potential instances of bias and challenge the validity of any assumptions that may arise from such bias. Sharla Brown-Ajayi, Director of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, will be serving in this capacity.

The University has retained the services of Ryan Crawford and Darrien Davenport with the international search firm, WittKieffer. They will be on campus Tuesday and Wednesday, November 28 and 29, to learn what qualities and qualifications the campus community feels is necessary in our 21st president. More about this visit will be shared in the next few days.

On behalf of the Board of Trustees and the entire Illinois Wesleyan community, I want to thank those who have volunteered their time and energies to undertake this very important endeavor. I would also like to encourage you to be engaged with the search, particularly in terms of nominating candidates and providing feedback that you feel would be helpful to the committee and its members.

Sincerely,

Timothy J. Szerlong '74 Chair, IWU Board of Trustees

