• Mary Ann Bushman

    Associate Professor of English and IWU Writing Program Director and Acting Department Chair

    (Shakespeare, humanities, Renaissance literature, British poetry(medieval-18th century))

    Contact: (309) 556-3244 — mbushman@iwu.edu

  • Dr. Christopher Callahan

    Professor of French

    My research focuses on lyric poetry as a performed genre. As it combines narratology and music, my work has extended to include narrative as well as lyrico-narrative nerse, the motet, and most recently, rhetoric and drama. I am also an avid reader in art history, particularly Romanesque and Gothic iconography, and I have developed a web site for instruction in that field.

    Contact: (309) 556-3094 — callahan@iwu.edu

  • Mark Criley

    Assistant Professor in Philosophy

    (Philosophy of language; epistemology; philosophy of law; meta-ethics; philosophical logic)

    Research Interests: The logic of abstract/contested concepts; the connection between philosophy of language and legal interpretation

    Contact: (309) 556-3030 — mcriley@iwu.edu

  • Linda J. Farquharson

    Professor of Music

    (Voice)

    Contact: (309) 556-3025 — lfarquha@iwu.edu

  • Sonja Fritzsche

    Associate Professor of German and Eastern European Studies

    At IWU since 2001, she teaches all levels of German language as well as upper division courses in 20th and 21st century German literature and film, German for Human Rights, and German Business Culture. She also regularly teaches courses in English on German and Russian utopia/science fiction, Central European Women's writing, and German cinema.

    Contact: (309) 556-3290 — sfritzsc@iwu.edu

  • Rebecca Gearhart

    Professor of Anthropology

    Contact: (309) 556-3921 — rgearhar@iwu.edu

  • Emily Kelahan

    Assistant Professor in Philosophy

    (Early modern philosophy; metaphysics; epistemology; philosophy of religion)

    Research Interests: The metaphysical and epistemological views of early modern philosophers such as Hume, Descartes, and Newton; and theories of cognition in the early modern period

    Contact: (309) 556-3257 — ekelahan@iwu.edu

  • Dr. James Matthews

    Assistant Professor of French & Chair of the French & Italian Department

    Qui suis-je?

    A character in one of Garry Trudeau's early Doonesbury strips smirks after having scared away a menacing defenseman by letting loose a stream of colloquial French, and says:  "Not bad for a French major from the Bronx."  In my case, change "the Bronx" to "Detroit" and, me voilà.

    Contact: (309) 556-3571 — matthews@iwu.edu

  • Carole Myscofski

    McFee Professor of Religion

    Contact: (309) 556-3177 — myscofsk@iwu.edu

  • April Schultz

    Associate Professor of History

    Contact: (309) 556-3414 — aschultz@iwu.edu

  • Dr. Scott Sheridan

    Associate Professor of French & Italian, Director of Humanities Program, Co-Director of International Studies

    (Latin American Religions (especially women in colonial Brazilian religions and Afro-Brazilian religions), magic and ritual theory, new religions,and the end of the world)

    Despite my specialization in Nineteenth-Century French cultural studies, I pride myself on being a very versatile instructor, dedicated to offering courses that cross traditional boundaries of discipline, literary genre, historical period, national identity...

    Contact: (309) 556-3238 — sheridan@iwu.edu

  • James Simeone

    Professor and Chair of Political Science

    Contact: (309) 556-3126 — jsimeone@iwu.edu

  • Nancy Sultan

    Professor and Director of Greek and Roman Studies

    Contact: (309) 556-3173 — nsultan@iwu.edu

  • Dan Terkla

    Professor of English and Humanities Coordinator

    (Medieval studies, Beat writers, travel narratives, interdisciplinary humanities)

    Contact: (309) 556-3649 — terkla@iwu.edu

  • Adam Woodis

    Professor of German

    ((19th-century German literature, history, and culture))

    Contact: (309) 556-3470 — awoodis@iwu.edu