Wallace, Wiley and new Accounting Giving Circle Gifts Announced in Dallas

The Dallas Connection in September drew Illinois Wesleyan alumni and friends. During the celebrations, new gifts for Illinois Wesleyan were announced.

Kent Wallace ’62 and Sue Wallace have given a substantial gift for the planned Main Classroom Building, tentatively scheduled to begin construction in the summer of 2011. The couple has been active in hosting and attending alumni events in the Dallas area for the past 18 years. Always committed to increasing opportunities for IWU students, the Wallaces gave the lead gift for the Minor Myers, jr. Welcome Center, which opened in 2008. Kent said he was often inspired by the University’s 17th president for whom the center is named. He returned to IWU as a member of the University’s campaign committee during the 1990s. The founding President and CEO of Wallace Electronics, Kent is also the 2004 recipient of the Illinois Wesleyan Loyalty Award.

John ’57 and Carolyn Wiley have made a pledge to the unrestricted endowment fund at Illinois Wesleyan. The couple participate in many Dallas Connection alumni events. Building the endowment through unrestricted gifts is a major goal of the Transforming Lives campaign. John said it was his academic experience at Illinois Wesleyan that formed the groundwork for his lifelong interest in science and technology, leading to a 40-year career as an engineer and technologist in the semi-conductor industry. He said he appreciates the strong educational foundation he received at IWU.

Young Alumni Giving Circle Scholarship Fund, supported by a group of nine alumni, was announced. Representing the new Giving Circle donors were Dallas Connection hosts John and Dr. Angela Schilsky ’95.

The contributors to the Young Alumni Accounting Giving Circle said they feel Illinois Wesleyan provided them with a strong accounting foundation that has been essential in propelling their careers. The inaugural recipient of the Young Alumni Accounting Giving Circle Scholarship is Justin Eddington '12.